The congregation of the Dutch Reformed Church, Stellenbosch was established in 1686. The church building was consecrated in 1723 after the first building was destroyed in a fire in 1710. The cross church was enlarged in 1863. Burials were initially permitted under the church floor. About 100 people were buried inside the church before the floor was tiled. In 1801 the first crypts were allowed outside the church building. This continued until 1849 when the first municipal cemetery was opened.