Tucked away in Westbourne Road in Port Elizabeth is St Cuthbert’s Gray Memorial Church, which was consecrated in March 1884 and commemorates two saintly men St Cuthbert and Bishop Robert Gray. (Grays’s wife is the legendary Sophy Gray who designed and built numerous other small chapels dotted around the country). It is called St Cuthbert’s because of Bishop Robert Gray’s connection with the See of Durham.
With the expansion of Port Elizabeth’s residential area to Westbourne Road and surrounds the need for another Anglican church was seen and in June 1882 the Town Council granted a piece of ground for the erection of a church in memory of Bishop Robert Gray.
Due to lack of funds the first building was of wood-and-iron, designed by Mr WT Miles, the municipal architect.
The new chancel (the area around the altar of a church for the clergy and choir) was built in 1889 and the original rectory in 1910 but it was not until 1932 that the present nave and vestries were completed and consecrated. In 1947, as a war memorial, it was decided that a chapel be built and that the great west window, (of stained glass), be installed.